Reality Show

I live halfway between order and chaos.

On the one hand, I have an old card catalog in my living room (what? you don’t?) and all of the little drawers are labeled (pencils, subway passes, sunglasses, etc.). Not a single drawer is mixed up.  The drawers also used to be alphabetized, but that system had to go when “matches” was a little too close to a small set of hands.

On the other hand, there is a baseball cap, a Diet Coke of indeterminate age (and extensive flatness), 3 books, a cowbell, a pretend birthday cake and a sippy cup on my coffee table right now.  I’d put some of those things away but I might trip over the 18 toys and 4 pairs of shoes lined up on the kitchen floor.  Seriously, they’re lined up. They were scattered about the floor, but Selam put them in a little line from refrigerator to back door.

The chaos seems to have quintupled in the last 19 months.  Half the time it makes me crazy and half the time, I just sort of go “meh. nobody ever died from a messy coffee table.”

Enter Mary Allison, who has a pretty groovy blog going on.  MA has decided to take on the chaos and not tame it, but just document it.  I love it.  I think I’m going to be very sad when this series ends.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reality Show

Leave a Reply

