Daisy

I grew up on Girl Scouting.

I joined back in the day of beanies and brown dresses.  I looooooooooooooved Girl Scouts.  Brownie Day was such a highlight of my week. You got to wear the brown dress to school, together with the little tie and beanie.  I can’t remember if it was in Brownies or Juniors where I bought (with my own money) and rocked the “flashers”  for my knee socks.  Yes, I thought it was super cool to wear elastic bands around my knees with little colored tabs. They held up my knee socks.  I was a rock star.  (And people said they were surprised when I went to divinity school–was this not a clear sign that I was headed to geekdom at an early age?)

In middle school, I discovered Girl Scout camp (imagine angel chorus right here…yeah, that’s how I felt about it). Truth be told, my summers in New Auburn, Wisconsin were pivotal for me.  I learned how to be friends with people that were very different from my middle class, white community.  I met counselors from all over the world and was stunned to learn about other cultures.  I learned of my own strength, my own ability to make good decisions, and how to be a leader.   The challenge of planning and executing a canoe tr

ip with a dozen girls tested me, molded me.  To this day, I can feel the weight of a canoe on my shoulders, my arms taught from sun and strain in front of me.  To this day, my muscles remember the J stroke, and I recall the pride of learning to do something really, really well, even if nobody ever saw me do it.

In scouts, I learned to serve the community, to always ask “how can we make this better?” and to never, ever imagine that gender would limit my path.  As I became a young adult, I continued to be involved through working at (and eventually directing) summer camps, and through leading a Girl Scout troop for girls at a publicly funded school serving primarily low income, urban girls.

So, who’s surprised that it appears I will be leading a Daisy troop next year? I want Selam to have all of that and more.  I’ve signed up for the online training and found a location to sponsor us. Yikes! I just wish the uniforms still rocked the flashers.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Daisy

  1. i’m pretty sure you can introduce the girls to the flashers. but i’m really sure selam and her fellow scouts will benefit so much from you as a leader. go, girls!

  2. I don’t think I’d be who I am today without the girl scouts. I learned so much about how to treat kids by being a camp counselor. I often say that it was the best teacher training course that I had.

  3. Wow, I felt like I was reading about myself (except for divinity school, directing camps and having a daughter!) I started as a brownie and have been involved with a troop ever since – just finishing up my 27th year now!

    I wil always hold a special place in my heart for Camp Farnsworth and my sister scouts! I was fortunate to be one of your campers back in ’92!

  4. I’m so envious of your positive experience with Girl Scouts. My scouting experience was pretty much terrible in every way, because of the Mean Girls in my troop. I think it’s such a great program I’m hoping to have a redemptive experience as a leader, some day.

    Blessings on the new endeavor!

  5. I feel the same way. I cannot tell you how many times I think back to those experiences as a girl scout as well as a counselor/lifeguard/swim instructor. This weekend I stood in front of the White House. The last time I was there was with my Junior G.S. troop and it brought the memories back. I wish girls today would take advantage of such a wonderful, life changing opportunity.

  6. Oh, Teresa! Did you participate in the National Girl Scout Singalong? I didn’t have a troop at that time, so I joined my friend Amy in helping to chaperone her troop–none of her moms could do it. There were something like a bajillion little girls out on the mall singing. crazy.

  7. I hope you both have an awesome time! We just got back from our end-of-year bridging and celebration ceremony for the Daisy and Brownie troops at our school.

Leave a Reply

