Why yes, I do have a blog

It has been forever since I’ve written, and I keep meaning to write and catch up everything–the end of pre-school, the week at Grandma’s (for Selam) and Minnesota for me.  There was also Camp Bapa, which coincided with Hurricane Irene and 4 power-less days. I’m sure there’s more. But it’s 3 a.m. and I can’t sleep because the baby duck starts kindergarten tomorrow. And after that, she gets on a little bus and goes to after school program.

She went to a day camp with the after school program yesterday and didn’t like it much because “the kids were loud” and “nobody wants to be my friend” and “one teacher yells.”  Granted, the kids were grades K-2 together (and ordinarily K is its own group, but this is a special school’s closed for hurricane day camp, so it’s smaller).

I’m sure it will be fine. I’m sure it will be fine. I’m sure it will be fine.

I’m sure she’ll make a friend at school and nobody will yell at after -school and she won’t drown during free swim or fall asleep on the bus and end up in Pittsburgh.  I’m sure she’ll eat all her school lunch and play on the playground and fall in love with school and after school and there will be ponies and roses and butterflies every where.

But for now, it’s 3 a.m. and I can’t sleep, and I’m worried. Please God, let the rest of the world see how amazing my baby is and keep her safe and loved. Amen.

 

4 thoughts on “Why yes, I do have a blog

  1. Hi there – I discovered your blog a few months back, but have never commented before. Apologies. This is such a beautiful, heartfelt post. Sending you and your baby duck truckloads of strength for the first day of kinder from Down Under.

  2. Elliot missed the bus stop yesterday. So, it happens. It was my fear. It completely and totally worked out. Transportation figured it out and returned him to his after-school program. He was too busy hearing a funny story. He was not tramatized in any way. It goes to show that sometimes worrying about the what if is just worry, not reality.

Leave a Reply

