circles and squares

So, the writing program that has rejected me twice, and yet continues to put me on its fundraising mailing list has announced its new lineup for this summer. To try again or not to try again? Of course, the two that interest me most are the two that are unfunded–isn’t that always the way?

I’m torn. On the one hand, the week I spent at the Louisville Institute’s writing workshop was SO HELPFUL and useful to me. On the other, I’m not writing a book. I don’t expect to ever write a book, really, anymore. I just like to write and to be better at it.

And then there’s the fact that they keep rejecting me which gives me the dual reaction of feeling both unworthy and determined.

Sigh.

In other news, I used the phrase “trying to fit a square peg into a round hole” the other day with Selam. I can’t remember the context. She didn’t get it, so I had to explain it to her. She said that square pegs CAN fit in round holes if they really, really try to, but they have to change to do it, and then they really aren’t square pegs.

So there you have it.

3 thoughts on “circles and squares

  1. You clearly have oodles and oodles and oodles of talent as a writer. Since reading your blog, I have cried (more than once) and laughed a lot (and not just because I was PMSing). So, if they don’t want you then it’s their loss. Go find a program that is right for YOU! (She says as she sits at the very first day of her MFA program scared out of her pants!)

Leave a Reply

