If I Were President

In the hallway outside Selam’s classroom there are a series of “If I were President”  worksheets. The kids drew pictures and wrote a sentence or two.  Many of the second graders were united in their conviction that the US President would make it illegal to wear school uniforms. (They don’t wear them at this school, but it’s been suggested).  Some of the second graders are concerned with the homeless, and gun control. One girl wrote that if she were president, she’d wear red high heels. 

I particularly enjoyed the first graders.  “If I were president, I would “stachue of librt” and “eat hot dogs” and my favorite one had a picture that filled the whole space—a picture of a boy with a big grin on his face. “If I were president, I would….smil.”

Leave a Reply

