That little girl

My mind is actually still reeling about the whole ugliness regarding that beautiful young actress (I am going to avoid her name because I don’t want to add to the search hits that combine her name with that incident.) I know it was several days ago. I know that in the wake of all that is awful and looming it is done and gone.

But that little girl could be my little girl.

And I guess this whole misogynist, racist perfect storm that smacks little brown girls and adult black women is something that I thought that I could hold back a little bit longer, that I thought that I could keep away from the force field of our loving family. That’s what I thought. That’s what I wanted. 

“What if a giant tiger jumped through the window, Mommy, what would you do?” 

“I’d jump on his head and spin him in circles til he was dizzy. That’s what I’d do.” 

“What if he was really big and was rushing to my bed?”

“I’d swoop you up and stash you on the ceiling until I shooed him out the door?”

“But what if…”

“No matter what you say, I’ll find a way.” 

“Because Mommy’s always here.” 

“Yes, Mommy is always here. Now, brush your teeth.” 

2 thoughts on “That little girl

  1. I thought that was just bizarre; and then an executive of The Onion saying that an apology SHOULDN’T have been issued. Talking about a NINE year old!!!??

Leave a Reply

