Draining

So while I am still celebrating! the! shiny! new! chance! to go! to! a! workshop! I am also turning my home upside down. 

I’ve lost money.

Cash to be specific. Not thousands of dollars, but definitely more than 20.

I put it in an envelope and put it in a specific place in my apartment.

Then I moved it.

Because I thought the first place wasn’t safe enough.

Now I can’t find it.

It is making me insane.

And worried.

I suspect it will turn up someday, but until then, here, pick up a garbage bag and help me dig.

The upside of all this is that I am clearing out piles of papers and drawers at a rapid speed. If you have to go through the piles anyway, you might as well pitch the stuff that need to be pitched.

At the same time, my finances are also being mildly drained (or trying to be drained) by some desperately needed clothes and shoe shopping. I have this bad habit of buying several of an item at a time, which means that said item(s) all wear out at the same time. Consequently, until I bought 2 pairs a few weeks ago, I spent 2 months with no jeans at all because all 3 pairs literally disintegrated within a month. I don’t blame them. I don’t know how old they were but I do remember wearing them in Delaware.

I moved from Delaware in 2003.

Luckily, Costco sells jeans.

Yeah, I’m classy that way, picking up blue jeans at the same time as my 24 pack of toilet paper rolls.

That year-2003- was apparently the year of the spring/summer trouser, as nearly all work pants (and jeans) that I own look incredibly raggedy and tacky. They are nubby. Some have holes. it’s bad. I’ve been trying to at least replace a few pairs, but so far, no luck. I ordered a pair from a catalog. I hope they come soon. I’m sick of skirts and cords. Too bad I can’t rock Costco jeans at work.

And last, somehow over the last year, my foot has grown. Yes, singular. One foot has grown. My right one. The left one is still the old size. My right foot hurts in nearly all my shoes except for sneakers and boots. Neither of which work with summer clothes. I spent 2 hours tonight, dragging Selam store to store in search of a pair of shoes that I could wear (just one!) that fit both feet. I found nothing.

Am I too young to pull off the sneakers with dress clothes look?

2 thoughts on “Draining

  1. When I find something that I really like to wear, I tend to buy two or three of the same item, same color, same size. Partially because I hate shopping for clothes for myself. If I am shopping for Mea, it makes things so much easier. 🙂

    I hope your foot shrinks or your other foot decides to grow to match it, my guess is that it makes shoe shopping incredibly difficult.

Leave a Reply

