Musing

I’m supposed to be writing something on this prompt:

“Making deals is how we function with other people. ‘If you do this for me, I’ll do this for you in return.’ So it is not surprising for us to try making deals with God. ‘God, if you will spare my husband, I will never take anything for granted again.’” 

Got any ideas?  I’d like to use something bloggy as scaffolding. But then again, maybe not. 

Spent last week with Selam on her spring break.

Also spent it checking the news pages. Nonstop.

3 thoughts on “Musing

  1. A few years ago, a buddy of mine missed his stop (by a lot) on Metro North in the wee hours of the morning. He looked up into the sky and made an appeal “God, if you really exist, prove it and make a taxi appear” (I will allow that my friend was most likely inebriated). And, wouldn’t you know it, a taxi pulled up to the train station to drop off a couple (also most likely in a state of inebriation) and he hopped right into it and got home without much trouble.

  2. My husband’s church (in and of itself worth a long study) teaches its members to pray only for 2 things. 1 a partner to “live in peace with,” and 2 faith to handle what life brings. I find the second one to be fascinating. And pray this myself quite often. Brings things to the core quickly (how Finnish really).

Leave a Reply

