Workshop

So, I promised I’d write more about the workshop, but I’m finding that hard to do just yet.  I think I need a bit more time. I also need internet at home. Home is my primary writing place (lunch hour scribbles like this one are the exception), and I have not replaced the internet service that I quit in a full-tilt Junie B Jones huffy. I bought a month’s worth of 3G for the Ipad, and when that’s out, I’ll buy the good stuff again.  For a brief crazed moment I thought maybe I could live without it. I was wrong. 

Anyway..

Look! shiny!

So, in lieu of a real post, here are bullets of cool writer’s workshop: 

  • I always say that I have no regrets about choosing to parent at an –ahem–later age. I’ve done everything I want to do. I take it back. After a week of writing, and reading and thinking, now I want to have more formal writing training–workshops, MFA maybe. But not that likely with the whole single mom gig. Not a regret, but a twinge, let’s say. A twinge. I can live with a twinge.
  • I am not a very good reader. I found myself grasping for words of any kind to provide feedback to others.  It wasn’t that I didn’t like it or didn’t read it. I just don’t have the vocabulary that would make my thoughts more concrete.  This would be the downside of skipping out on lit and rhetoric in college (silly music major, writing is for everyone). I’m not sure how to tweak this deficit.  I already read like a maniac. I think I need a book on how to read. Dick and Jane for the over-educated, anyone?
  • I like to write. 
  • Having your piece workshopped on the first day results in people being extra kind. 
  • I checked work email just once. The first day. That’s it. I didn’t miss it. 
  • I do not have the ambition to write a book. I do have the ambition to be read, so I need to try to submit things again. 
  • I like to write. Have I mentioned that?
  • Most people are far more complex than they let you see in person. Words are far more nuanced on the page than by voice. 
  • Having not much to do (compared to my ordinary life) made me want to take a lot of pictures.  Odd that a workshop on words made me want to use pictures. 
  • I really like to write. I want to go back, too. 
4 thoughts on “Workshop

  1. I love this. (My piece was workshopped on the very last day, when people were tired. But I got a lot of very helpful written feedback later from fellow participants.) I’m so glad you had a good time.

  2. I was on the very last day for the first workshop I went to, and that wasn’t great either, though it was my own fault! We signed up. For this one, we were assigned, and I still haven’t quite exegeted the ordering or pairings.

    In any case, people are very kind at the beginning.

  3. I earned multiple college degrees as a single parent. It’s not impossible. I did take on significant debt….but I would do it again. I know your situation is different in some ways, but don’t rule it out.

Leave a Reply

